Make Your Own Household Cleaners

To some of you, the idea of making your own household cleaner might not be new.   I’ve made my own for quite some time and it is so easy!  I remember my mom cleaning with a water and vinegar mix when I was growing up.  She’s also the one who taught me to scrub the sink and shower floor with a hand full of baking soda.  Thanks Mom!  Cleaning doesn’t have to be complicated.  Making your own cleaner will save you money, reduce your plastic bottle consumption, and keep your house clean without the use of toxic chemicals.  My daughter even helps me clean and I don’t have to worry about her breathing in harmful fumes.  The benefits far outweigh the time it takes to mix up the cleaning solution.  Use these to clean floors, kitchen counters, bathrooms, etc.

Basic Cleaner

1 part white vinegar to 1 part water.  Mix and pour into reusable bottle. Clean with damp cloth. You can add essential oil if you don’t like the scent of vinegar.

Multipurpose Disinfectant

Mix 2 tsp Borax, 4 Tbsp white vinegar, 1/4 tsp liquid castile soap (optional), 3 C hot water.  My friend, Melissa, uses peppermint castile soap, which gives the cleaner a nice fresh scent (especially nice if you dislike the smell of vinegar).  You can buy castile soap in bulk at Whole Foods (if you want to avoid buying it in a plastic bottle).  If you want to store the mixture while warm, you can pour it into a glass bottle.  If you plan to transfer it into a reusable plastic spray bottle, I wouldn’t suggest doing that until the solution has cooled (hot temps can cause chemicals to leach from plastic).  If you are reusing empty beverage bottles, please mark them as cleaner (see photo) and keep away from children.  I couldn’t easily remove the juice label on my bottle, but remove labels if you can.

There are other versions of basic household cleaners, but these are the ones I’ve used.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Replace your Plastics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make Your Own Household Cleaners

  1. Julie/Mom says:

    Well, Alissa, I learned that from Grandma! She and Grandpa were ahead of their time — they even tried organic gardening back in the 70s.

Leave a Reply

