Cost of Bread

This morning, I’m baking bread once again.  It definitely saves us money to bake our own bread instead of paying $6-$8 for a large loaf from the bakery.   I am also finding it very rewarding, though it takes more time.  Previous to our plastic-free challenge, I would buy day-old bread from the grocery store and pride myself in never paying over $2.50 for a loaf.   Of course, it is more convenient to buy conventional bread, but you are left to deal with the packaging, which ends up in the trash.  Conventional breads can also come with a long list of undesirable ingredients.  I still love being frugal, though now I’m trying to find ways to save money while creating less waste (in this case, doing without bread bags).   Today, I am making a basic whole wheat loaf.  While I set the dough to rise, I calculated the costs.   This recipe makes either one large loaf or two small loaves.  The total cost for the ingredients (flour, yeast, salt, sugar) comes to only $1.65.  Of course, this amount will vary according to what price you pay for your ingredients.  Stocking up on flour when it is on sale, for example, could make the bread cost even less.  I’ve found that I can get flour cheaper in the package than in bulk, though I’ve bought it both ways.  Now, am I saying I’ll never buy bread again? Of course not.  I will surely support local bakeries, such as The Denver Bread Company when I don’t feel like baking bread myself.  They make delicious wholesome breads.  I’m just illustrating a way you can save money while eliminating plastic from your grocery list.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Groceries, On the Menu and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cost of Bread

  1. Carmen says:

    What do you use to store the bread in w/o plastic? I have baked bread for years. I have a sourdough starter that I have had for about 20 years. I use and re-use large Ziploc bags in which to keep/freeze the loaves. Just wondering what you use.

    • Alissa says:

      We used to reuse plastic bags until my dad told me how they stored bread when he was growing up. They’d just put the bread sliced-side down on a cutting board. That is how we store it now and the crust acts like natural packaging. If I make a loaf then sometimes I’ll put it back into the loaf pan once it has cooled and wrap the sliced end with aluminum foil. This keeps the bread nice and soft. The woman with the blog http://www.aplasticfreeyear.blogspot.com mentioned having success freezing bread in paper bags.

  2. Dan says:

    When we had a loaf of bread get a little hard because we took too long in eating it, I just broke it up into pieces and dipped them in the broth from my chicken noodle soup. That made it quite edible and very tasty.

Leave a Reply

